Kirindi Ella Waterfalls


Kirindi Ella waterfall is in Sri Lanka’s central highlands, only 6.5 km from the main junction in Pelmadulla, Colombo-Ratnapura-Batticaloa A4 main road. Kirindi Falls in the Ratnapura District of Sabaragamuwa Province is 19 km east of Ratnapura, 25 km west of Balangoda and 55 km north of Embilipitiya.

Read More in Details

Kirindi Falls is a beautiful 116-meter-tall waterfall that originates on the  Kuttapitiya Mountain and traverses 13 kilometres before reaching the cascading site in the e Kaluwaramukalana Forest. From there, it drains to the Kaluganga River in the Bambarakotuwa Rainforest through the Denawaka River. At the base of the waterfall is a deep pool called Diyagathwala. It is surrounded by a forest where wild boar, cobra, monkeys, and reptiles live, among other plants and animals. Local villagers assert a flight of stone stairs goes to the bottom of the pool, where a treasure chest is concealed. However, the water evaporates during droughts, and no treasure has ever been discovered.

According to legend, the location was initially known as Kustapitiya, which means itch, since a monarch with itchy skin once resided there. Locals also say that human voices can be heard near the waterfall on Halloween and that fireballs can be seen over the waterfall at night. To reach Kirindi Falls, follow the Ratnapura-Pelmadulla highway and turn left onto the Kuttapitiya road, continuing for 5 kilometres. Instead, if coming from Ratnapura, use the e Balangoda route to Pelmadulla and then the e Pelmadulla School road to Kiuriwandala through Narangoda. The waterfall may be seen near the Kuttapitiya tea industry, and the Ratnapura rest-house, which is 21 kilometres away, is a handy spot to stay.



Submit a Review

Send reply to a review

Send listing report

This is private and won't be shared with the owner.

Your report sucessfully send




Sign in

Send Message

My favorites

Application Form

Claim Business


Congratulations to srilankatravelpages.com for winning Asia’s Best Innovative Travel Portal Award 2022-2023!